Arc Alpin

Facilitate everyone's access to the Alps' nicest spots

The Tyrol

The Austrian State of Tyrol

The state of Tyrol (capital Innsbruck) is for the most part a mountainous region, with only 12% of its land permanently inhabitable. It is a succession of alpine valleys and glacier domains from the East to the West (Kaunertal, Pitztal, Ötztal, Stubaital, Zillertal...). Today, all of the afore-mentioned areas border the independent Italian state of South Tyrol, which for over 600 years (from 1363 to 1919) had belonged to the Austrian Habsburg Empire.

World famous ski resorts

Tyrol is popular for its famous ski resorts such as Sankt Anton am Alberg and Kitzbuhel. East Tyrol is separated from the rest of the state by the independent province of South Tyrol and the district of Salzburg. Its administrative center is Lienz, the sunniest city in Austria.

Austria's highest peaks

Two of Austria's highest peaks are located in Tyrol: the South face of the Grossglockner (3798 m) in East Tyrol and the Wildspitze (3768m), where the Pitztal and Ötztal ranges meet.


  • Austria's charm
  • Endless hills and mountains


This site can be combined with: